The power of knowledge

It’s crazy because a week ago I was in Costa coffee and this guy that was working there was full of energy. I ordered a coffee with a sandwich which he convinced me to have it hot and I was like go on then! True enough the sandwich tasted better hot but what struck me so much was how he was. We didn’t know each other but yet we had this bond of good will towards each other and it got me thinking. Why is it that we don’t see more people like this in work places? Even outside of work where you can just simply walk down the street, the expression on most people’s face is that of a stressed out person. Fair enough we all have problems and again this could go back to the fact of all us wearing a mask on our face. Let me explain it a bit more clearly about the mask thing. I basically view people wearing mask on their faces to hide away the pain in them or just to protect themselves from been hurt again. However this one guy proved to me that I’m not the only person who can make people feel relaxed.

It was an interesting conversation when he spoke about depression because he said 70% of us in the UK are on this which is incredible! But yet when I said I can relate to it due to me being on them, he seemed pretty shocked. But then a lot of people seemed very shocked when I do say I do suffer from depression. Its a sad case that we hide who we our to the world because we are either scared of been bullied or just the fact that saying that you are suffering from mental health issues is simply taboo. So what’s my point? I guess it’s this … Don’t be ashamed of who you are. Or more to the point, don’t hide it. I’m 31 years old and even at times I still find some days can be hard. Some days I have a little cry now and then, but I’m not ashamed it nor of who I am. Embrace each moment and hold your head high, because who we are … Is special.

Leave a Reply

